AgiBot A3 Ultra: 8-Hour Battery, 10-Second Swaps, and Jobs in Hotels and Metro Inspection

AgiBot A3 Ultra specs: 1.74 m, 60 kg, 51 DoF, up to 8 hours runtime, company-stated. What the hotel and metro inspection claims do and do not show.

By Shivam Singh · · 5 min read

The AgiBot A3 Ultra is a 1.74 m, 60 kg humanoid that AgiBot says can run up to eight hours of combined operating time and swap or recharge its battery without a full stop. On 17 September 2026 the company said the robot is already working in hotels, auto dealerships, supermarkets and metro inspection, per Humanoids Daily. Those deployment statements are company claims, and no deployment count or performance data accompanies them.

What is the AgiBot A3 Ultra?

It is a full-size humanoid that AgiBot describes as "developed for long-duration operation in public-facing, commercial and service environments." AgiBot introduced it at WAIC 2026 in Shanghai, alongside the X2 EDU, G2 Max and OmniHand 3 Ultra-M, in a press release dated 20 July 2026.

In plain terms: this is a robot designed to stand, walk and work through a shift in places with customers, not a lab research platform. The design priority is uptime. Strength and agility come second.

What is AgiBot's thesis for the A3 Ultra?

The bet is that service humanoids win on availability. The launch release stresses long-duration work and three ways to keep power up: direct charging, battery replacement and autonomous charging. Humanoids Daily reports that AgiBot's September promotional video describes the video as promoting a move from manufacturing robots to putting them into operation.

AgiBot also says the robot can work autonomously, perform different tasks and collaborate with other robots, according to the same report. That is a positioning statement, not a measured result.

How is AgiBot funded?

AgiBot was founded in 2023 by former Huawei employees Deng Taihua and Peng Zhihui, according to a Reuters report of 10 October 2025. Reuters, citing unnamed sources, said the company planned a Hong Kong IPO targeting a valuation of HK$40 billion to HK$50 billion ($5.14 billion to $6.4 billion) and cited PitchBook for an earlier valuation of $2.07 billion as of March 2025.

Reuters named Tencent and HongShan Capital Group as backers and said an August 2025 strategic round included LG Electronics and Mirae Asset. Those valuation figures are reported targets from anonymous sources, not filed numbers, and they were described as subject to change.

What are the A3 Ultra's specifications?

All figures below are company-stated. None has been independently measured.

SpecA3 Ultra (company-stated)
Height1.74 m
Weight60 kg
Degrees of freedom51 active
Payload5 kg per arm
Operating timeUp to 8 hours combined (equal walking and standing time, per Humanoids Daily)
Battery swap10 seconds (per AgiBot product page, as reported by Humanoids Daily)
ChargingDirect charging and autonomous charging
ComputeNVIDIA Thor (TOPS not published)
Sensors3D LiDAR, RGB-D cameras, fisheye cameras, binocular vision
PositioningGPS, RTK, UWB
Battery capacityNot published in the launch release
PriceNot published in the launch release
AvailabilityNot published in the launch release

The height, weight, joint count, payload, runtime, sensor and chip details come from AgiBot's WAIC release. The ten-second swap and the walking-and-standing runtime condition come from Humanoids Daily's reading of the product page. Third-party listings give slightly different weights and heights, so rely on AgiBot's own numbers until a datasheet is confirmed.

How does the A3 Ultra keep running for a full shift?

It combines a roughly eight-hour battery with fast replacement. AgiBot lists three modes: plug-in charging, battery replacement and autonomous charging, where the robot returns to a charger by itself. Humanoids Daily points out that AgiBot's product page separates continuous operation (charging plus swaps) from battery endurance. The round-the-clock claim should not be read as 24 hours on a single charge. For a hotel or shop, the practical question is who swaps the battery, where spare packs sit, and how many robots share a dock.

How does the A3 Ultra sense and navigate?

It uses a mixed sensor set: 3D LiDAR for mapping and obstacle detection, RGB-D and fisheye cameras for close-range vision, and binocular vision for depth. For positioning, AgiBot lists GPS, RTK and UWB, which it says supports navigation and coordinated operation across different environments.

NVIDIA Thor handles what AgiBot calls high-level embodied AI processing. The company has not said which AI models run on it, how they were trained, or how much processing happens on the robot versus in the cloud.

Where will people actually use the A3 Ultra?

AgiBot's stated settings are hotels, auto dealerships, supermarkets and metro inspection. AgiBot has not detailed which tasks the robot performs in each setting.

The WAIC release also says more than 30 AgiBot robots worked across WAIC venues on visitor guidance, information services and demonstrations, but it does not say which models. The same release describes AgiBot cultural tourism and transport projects with Sichuan Cultural Tourism and Guangzhou Railway without naming the robot model. These cannot be counted as A3 Ultra deployments.

How does the A3 Ultra compare with other humanoids?

AgiBot positions the A3 Ultra for public-facing service work rather than research or warehouse logistics. Its pitch rests on a full-size body, a swappable battery and positioning hardware for customer-facing sites. No common independent test exists, so any comparison with other humanoids is about intended duty, not a ranking.

What's still unclear?

Several things stand between the pitch and a verdict:

  • Deployment scale. AgiBot has given no number of robots, no named hotel or metro operator, and no task-completion or human-intervention rates. Humanoids Daily notes its own hero image of a showroom does not independently establish a customer deployment.
  • Application readiness. Humanoids Daily reports the product page says platform capability demonstrations are not default applications. Comparable functionality needs application-specific programming, model integration, environment configuration and validation.
  • Metro "inspection". The role is described as inspection, not passenger service. What the robot inspects, and whether it works unattended, is not stated.
  • Runtime conditions. Eight hours assumes equal walking and standing. Heavy arm work or long walking could shorten it, and no independent test exists.
  • Price and availability. Not in the launch release. Reseller listings vary widely and are not official.
  • Corporate numbers. The IPO valuation range comes from anonymous sources in 2025 and may have changed.

Should you buy it or wait?

For most consumers the question does not arise: this is a commercial robot with no published retail price. For a hotel, retailer or venue operator, wait for evidence before committing. Ask AgiBot for a named reference site, intervention rates per shift, battery capacity, charging time, safety certification and the total cost of the dock and spare packs.

If those numbers arrive and hold up, the long-shift design is a real differentiator. Until then the A3 Ultra is a well-specified claim rather than a proven fleet.

Frequently asked questions

How long does the AgiBot A3 Ultra battery last?

AgiBot says up to eight hours of combined operating time. Humanoids Daily, citing the product page, reports that figure assumes equal walking and standing time. The company also lists direct charging, battery replacement and autonomous charging, so continuous operation relies on swaps or docking rather than one charge. No independent runtime test has been published.

How fast is the A3 Ultra battery swap?

Humanoids Daily reports that AgiBot's product page lists a ten-second battery swap. AgiBot's WAIC 2026 press release confirms battery replacement but gives no swap time. Treat ten seconds as a company-stated figure, and note it says nothing about the dock or the human or robot that performs the swap.

Where is the AgiBot A3 Ultra deployed?

On 17 September 2026 AgiBot said the robot is working in hotels, auto dealerships, supermarkets and metro inspection. Humanoids Daily labels these company claims and notes no deployment count, task-completion rate or human-intervention data was given. No named hotel or metro operator has been identified.

What chip does the AgiBot A3 Ultra use?

AgiBot says the A3 Ultra is powered by NVIDIA Thor for high-level embodied AI processing. The company has not published a TOPS figure in its launch release. Sensors listed are 3D LiDAR, RGB-D cameras, fisheye cameras and binocular vision, with GPS, RTK and UWB positioning.

How much does the AgiBot A3 Ultra cost?

AgiBot's launch release does not state a price or availability date. Reseller listings for AgiBot humanoids vary widely and are not official, so this article does not quote one. Check AgiBot's store or an authorised reseller for a current quote.

Sources

  1. AGIBOT Unveils Four New Products at WAIC 2026, Showcasing Embodied AI in Real-World Operations, AgiBot (2026-07-18)
  2. AGIBOT Unveils Four New Products at WAIC 2026 (PR Newswire release), Macau Business (2026-07-20)
  3. AGIBOT Says A3 Ultra Is Going to Work in Hotels, Shops and Metro Inspection, Humanoids Daily (2026-09-17)
  4. Exclusive-Chinese robot maker AgiBot plans Hong Kong IPO next year, sources say, Reuters via Yahoo Finance (2025-10-10)